District awards grants to schools in Manatee and Sarasota counties for water resources education

WWSB Generic Stock 7
WWSB Generic Stock 7(WWSB-ABC7)
Published: Oct. 11, 2023 at 2:30 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

SARASOTA, Fla. (WWSB) - The Southwest Florida Water Management District awarded $108,304 in grants to 51 educators within the area as part of its Splash! school grant program.

The program provides up to $3,000 per school to enhance student knowledge of freshwater resources in grades K-12 and encourages hands-on STEM learning for students.

The District awarded grants to the following schools/teachers in Manatee and Sarasota counties:

  • Ashton Elementary School - Tiffany Lloyd (Sarasota)
  • Atwater Elementary School - Jessica Scott-Dunda (Sarasota)
  • Bay Haven School of Basics Plus - Kandace Budai (Sarasota)
  • Bayshore High School - John Silva (Manatee)
  • Lakewood Ranch High School - Marisa Naciuk (Manatee)
  • Laurel Nokomis School - Anita Macauley (Sarasota)
  • Manatee High School - Boontarika Elswick (Manatee)
  • Parrish Community High School - Savanna Finley (Mantee)
  • Wilkinson Elementary School - Tessa Healy (Sarasota)

Grants are available for freshwater resources field studies, water-conserving garden projects, community or school awareness campaigns and on-site workshops. For more information, please visit the District’s website at WaterMatters.org/SchoolGrants.