City of Bradenton installs new government

City of Bradenton installs new government
New members of Bradenton City Council take oaths. (Source: Bradenton City Council)

BRADENTON, Fla. (WWSB) - Three elected officials took the oath of office on Tuesday as a socially distanced crowd watched.

Gene Brown was sworn in as the city’s 22nd Mayor and only the third in the last 41 years. He follows Wayne Poston, who served the city for 21 years. Poston was unable to attend due to an illness.

Also sworn in Tuesday was Jayne Kocher, who will serve in the Ward one seat, and Pam Coachman in the Ward Five seat.

Both Kocher and Coachman are first-time elected officials.

The swearing in ceremony was followed by a special meeting of the new City Council, for the purpose of electing a vice mayor. That title goes to Ward Two Councilwoman Marianne Barnebey for this year. The motion to nominate Barnebey was made by Kocher, and appropriately enough, was seconded by Coachman. The motion passed 5-0.

Copyright 2021 WWSB. All rights reserved.