SARASOTA (WWSB) - You’ve heard of the phrase “click it or ticket", well the Sarasota Police Department wants to reinforce this phrase to drivers on the Suncoast.
Sarasota Police says there is no good excuse, they write tickets to save lives. When they pull people over, drivers use common phrases such as:
- “I wasn’t going very far.”
- “I was in a hurry.”
- “It’s too uncomfortable.”
- “Sometimes I just forget.”
According to the State of Florida, Seatbelts are in place not to stop passengers when they are involved in accidents, but to safely slow down the passengers once the car begins to stop. If there were no seatbelt to decelerate the passenger, the risk of injury, or even death, would be substantially higher.
Let’s go over some fun facts regarding seat belt laws and safety from FDOT’s Occupant Protection Frequently Asked Questions:
What is Florida’s Safety Belt Law? Florida law requires that all drivers and front seat passengers use safety belts when the vehicle is in motion. In addition, all persons under 18 years old are required to be restrained by a safety belt or child restraint device.
Can a passenger in a motor vehicle be ticketed for not wearing a safety belt? Yes. All front seat passengers must buckle up, regardless of age. Passengers under the age of 18 must be belted in either the front or back seat of the vehicle.
What is Florida’s Child Restraint Law? All children 5 years of age or younger must be properly restrained no matter where they are sitting in the vehicle. Children through age 3 must be secured in a separate carrier or a vehicle manufacturer’s integrated child safety seat. For children aged 4 through 5 years, a separate carrier, an integrated child safety seat, or a safety belt may be used.
For more information on seat belt laws click here.