editor's pick

What is a Pentathlon?

  • 0

SARASOTA, Fla. -- A pentathlon is a contest featuring five events. The name is derived from Ancient Greece by combining the words pente (five) and athlon (competition). The world's first pentathlon was in Ancient Greece and was part of the original Ancient Olympic Games.

The original five pentathlon events were:

1) Long Jump

2) Javelin Throwing

3) Discus Throwing

4) The Stadion, or short foot race

5) and Wrestling

Pentathletes were considered to be among the most skilled athletes and their modern day contemporaries draw some similar comparisons even though the mix of events have changed.


The modern pentathlon comprises these five events:

1) Fencing

2) 200m Freestyle Swimming

3) Equestrian Show Jumping

4) and a final combined Pistol Shooting event

5) and a 3200 m Cross-country Race

The pentathlon has been a core sport of the resurrected modern Olympic Games since 1912, and since 1949 an annual World Championship occurs.

Come on out and watch and be part of history!

To learn more, click here: www.sbpentathlon.com