Final district assignments released for next two high school football seasons

  • 0

SARASOTA - About half of the Suncoast high school football teams will find themselves in different class sizes for the 2013 and 2014 seasons, including powerhouse Manatee, who get bumped up to to largest class size in the state.

The Florida High School Athletic Association has released their final approved classifications.

Suncoast powerhouse Manatee High, who won the Class 7A state championship in 2011, are moving up to Class 8A, joining Riverview in District 7.

Newcomers Imagine School North Port has been assigned to a district after playing their inaugural football season as an independent in 2012.  They join Class 2A-7, matching up with schools mostly in the Ft. Myers-Naples area.

Here's a complete look at districts featuring Suncoast teams:

Class 8A-7: Manatee, Palm Harbor University, Riverview, St. Petersburg

Class 7A-10: Braden River, North Port, Lakewood Ranch, Palmetto, Sarasota

Class 7A-11: Charlotte, Fort Myers, Port Charlotte, Riverdale (Ft. Myers)

Class 6A-7: Dixie Hollins (St. Pete), Largo, Osceola (Seminole), Venice

Class 5A-13: Bayshore, Booker, DeSoto, Hardee, Southeast

Class 5A-14: Cape Coral, Cypress Lake (Ft. Myers), Dunbar (Ft. Myers), Island Coast (Cape Coral), Lemon Bay, Mariner (Cape Coral), North Ft. Myers

Class 3A-6: Bishop Verot (Ft. Myers), Cardinal Mooney, Out-of-Door Academy, St. Stephen's

Class 2A-5: Bradenton Christian, Cambridge (Tampa), Canterbury (St. Pete), Carrollwood (Tampa), Indian Rocks Christian (Largo), Keswick Christian (St. Pete), Northside Christian (St. Pete)

Class 2A-6: Evangelical Christian (Ft. Myers), First Baptist (Naples), Imagine School North Port, Marco Island Charter, Moore Haven, SW Florida Christian (Ft. Myers), St. John Neumann (Naples)