ACC coaches pick Miami's Larkin as player of year

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, March 19, 2013 3:15 pm

GREENSBORO, N.C. (AP) - Miami guard Shane Larkin is the Atlantic Coast Conference coaches' choice as player of the year.

The coaches' individual award winners were announced Tuesday by the league. Their ballots were received prior to last week's ACC tournament and they weren't allowed to vote for their own players.

Larkin received six votes to three for Virginia's Joe Harris, two for Virginia Tech's Erick Green and one for Duke's Mason Plumlee.

Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association members last week voted Green as their player of the year.

The coaches and players agreed on the other winners: Boston College's Olivier Hanlan as rookie of the year, Miami's Durand Scott as defensive player of the year and the Hurricanes' Jim Larranaga as coach of the year.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.


Send your photos & videos to and you could be featured on ABC 7 & our website.