SARASOTA, FL (WWSB) - According to the Florida State House, Florida House Representatives filed a bill to make texting a primary offense on Wednesday morning.
The ban was originally secondary and now it's primary ban. The bill will strengthen the ban on texting and messaging while driving.
A first violation remains a non-moving violation that carries a $30 fine plus court costs, for a total fine of up to $108.
A second or subsequent violation committed within five years is a moving violation that carries a $60 fine plus court costs, for a total fine of up to $158. This will add three points to your driver's license record.
If you crash due to a violation of the ban, you will have six points added to your license.
The bill protects civil liberties by requiring a warrant to access a driver’s phone.
The bill will also require law enforcement officer to inform the driver of his or her right to decline a search of the phone.
Upon filing of the bill Speaker Corcoran said, "Texting and driving presents a real, life-threatening danger to Floridians both on and off the road. The data is overwhelming and the need to act is equally compelling. We're proud to unveil a bill that does just that while also addressing legitimate civil liberties concerns."