Governor announces Black History Month Contest winners

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, February 25, 2014 4:44 pm | Updated: 7:28 pm, Tue Feb 25, 2014.

Tallahassee, Fla (WTXL) - Governor Rick Scott and First Lady Ann Scott announced the 2014 Black History Month student and teacher contest winners at a reception held at the Governor's Mansion this evening.

The reception celebrated African-American community leaders, educators, and students. Rose Marian Jefferson was a part of the ceremony as the 2014 Black History Month featured artist.

Three outstanding educators were presented with an Excellence in Education Award. The winners were nominated by peers and students and the recipients received $1,500 each.

Excellence in Education award winners are:

  • Michelle Wright – Miami Lakes K-8 Center, Miami Lakes, FL (Miami-Dade County)
  • LaTonja McNeil – State College of Florida Collegiate School, Bradenton, Florida (Manatee County)
  • Major Trent Johnson – Andrew Jackson High School, Jacksonville, FL (Duval County)

Students were honored as well at the event, with three student essay contest winners and two student art winners. Each student essay winner received a four-year Florida College Plan scholarship and the winners of the art competition were awarded $250.

Student essay contest winners are:

  • Brooklyn Sheppard, Port Saint Joe Elementary School, Port Saint Joe, Florida
  • Lyndsey Thomas, Franklin Academy, Pembroke Pines, Florida
  • Javan Latson, Belleview High School, Ocala, Florida

Student art contest winners are:

  • Katie Huynh – Lake Park Elementary in Naples, FL (K-1)
  • Kayla Gonzalez - Coral Reef Elementary in Miami, FL (2nd-3rd Grade)

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.


Send your photos & videos to and you could be featured on ABC 7 & our website.