Tarpon Tournament final results announced

  • 0

Sarasota, Fla. -- Following a grueling fish-off in which nine tarpon were caught in a single morning by seven anglers, the Sarasota Tarpon Tournament final results have been finalized.

David Sugar claimed first place, hauling in a 38 3/4-inch-girth tarpon in the waning minutes of the fish-off Saturday, June 20. Clark Nash earned second, with a 38-inch-girth tarpon. Dave Robinson finished third, catching a 34-inch-girth fish. The remaining fish-off results are as follows:

Fourth place: Jamie Smith: 34” girth

Fifth place: Mike McDonald: 32” girth

Sixth place: Brent Wilson: 12” girth

Seventh place: Miles Skeens: N/A

Leading the special divisions, Brent Wilson finished first in the fly division, catching a 32-inch-girth tarpon near Lido May 20. Landon Forde earned first in the youth division, with a 32-inch-girth tarpon near Turtle Beach June 6. Lynn Lessley won the womens division, with a 34 ½-inch-girth tarpon near Anna Maria June 9. Brent Wilson won the smallest tarpon division with a 9 ½-inch-girth tarpon in Sarasota bay June 4. Ron Albritton and Lynn Lessley won the his/hers division with a combined total girth (of two tarpon) measuring 70 ¾ inches. Finally, Jamie Smith won the most releases category with 11 total fish.

The finalists will be recognized at an awards banquet July 19, at the Hyatt Regency Sarasota. For a complete list of week-to-week results, check www.sarasotatarpontournament.com.